Tuesday, June 19, 2012

ConDRAGulations: Critics' Choice Television Awards 2012

Last night, the Broadcast Television Journalists Association hosted the Second Annual Critics' Choice Television Awards in Los Angeles. The whole affair seems like the BTJA's way of trying to get some good buzz surrounding their television favorites leading up to next month's Emmy nominations, but since they award shows and actors I like, I'm totally fine with it. Plus, if we are going to pay attention to the bat-shit crazy Golden Globes in January, we might as well focus on a night that actually awards some deserving and often-forgotten recipients.

You can view the full list of nominees here, then see the list of winners after the jump and join me in wishing them all a hearty Condragulations!

Best Drama Series: Homeland
Best Lead Actor in a Drama Series: Bryan Cranston, Breaking Bad
Best Lead Actress in a Drama Series: Claire Danes, Homeland
Best Supporting Actor in a Drama Series: Giancarlo Esposito, Breaking Bad
Best Supporting Actress in a Drama Series: Christina Hendricks, Mad Men
Best Guest Performer in a Drama Series: Lucy Liu, Southland

Best Comedy Series: Community
Best Lead Actor in a Comedy Series: Louis C.K., Louie
Best Lead Actress in a Comedy Series: Zooey Deschanel, New Girl; Amy Poehler, Parks and Recreation
Best Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series: Ty Burrell, Modern Family
Best Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series: Julie Bowen, Modern Family
Best Guest Performer in a Comedy Series: Paul Rudd, Parks and Recreation

Best Reality Series/Competition: The Voice
Best Reality Series: Anthony Bourdain: No Reservations
Best Reality Host: Tom Bergeron, Dancing with the Stars; Cat Deeley, So You Think You Can Dance (TIE)
Best Talk Show: Late Night with Jimmy Fallon

Best Animated Series: Archer

Best Movie/Miniseries: Sherlock
Best Actor in a Movie/Miniseries: Benedict Cumberbatch, Sherlock
Best Actress in a Movie/Miniseries: Julianne Moore, Game Change

Most Exciting New Shows:
The Following
The Mindy Project
The Newsroom
Political Animals

There's obviously a lot of celebration across the Internet over Community's victory, though I can't imagine that will actually help its Emmy chances much. I'm most excited about the wins for Amy Poehler, Cat Deeley and Archer; for my money, all three should be Emmy winners this year [fingers crossed]!

Also worth noting: the only repeat winner from last year's inaugural event is Christina Hendricks, who tied eventual Emmy-winner Margo Martindale last year. Can you imagine any other television award show having that kind of turnover? Fat chance.

[Image Source: Mirror Online] 

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...